Trip to Westfield Stratford

I spent this afternoon with Craigie at the new Westfield shopping centre, Stratford. This was both our second visit there.

I arrived at Westfield an hour ahead of our scheduled meet and did a quick stroll around the venue before sitting on one of the many leather sofas that are placed all over the building for shoppers to relax. In fact the seating areas are so comfy and spacious that you end speaking to complete strangers. So very un- Londonlike!

One thing you can say about Westfield is the size of the place. Massive.  Having lived 1 mile from Stratford for the past 8 years it is still unbelievable to see that “we” now have such a massive shopping centre within walking distance from home. No more Oxford Street!

The place is impressive with all the ususal stores like John Lewis, H&M, HMV and many more in place acros 3 floors; and if your cash runs out there are a few banks on the lower ground floor.

There is also a multi screen VUE cinema and quite a number of  eateries such as Nandos, Las Iguanas, & Pizza Express. Even BOSE have a store there as does West Ham Football Club . So glad I left  my credit cards on my coffee table at home. But I am really looking forward to the opening of Foyles.

Even though I was meeting Craigie on a Monday afternoon at 3pm Westfield was buzzing. No sign of a recession here with so many shoppers on the charge. Unless they were window shopping like me.

Craigie and I tried out the Caribbean restaurant “Rhythm Kitchen”. The service was very quick. After you ordered the food the pleasant girl at the till gave us a gadget which vibrates when our food is ready for collection.

We both had jerk chicken. Craigie had her chicken with carrot salad and I had mine with coleslaw plus rice and peas.  Craigie and I agreed that the food could have been a lot warmer but overall it was very nice.

Westfield’s close proximity to the Olympic Stadium has given Stratford an amazing 21st century look. I can remember the day when I was so elated at the news of London hosting the Olympics. Only to turn ten mintues later to my ex girl friend and say “Stratford?, it’s a dump!”

The one thing I would suggest for would be visitors to Westfield. Avoid weekends!

http://uk.westfield.com/stratfordcity

Craigie on Westfield’s 1st Floor

About africanherbsman1967

Sometimes I blog what's on my mind. But more into reading the thoughts and photos of other bloggers.
This entry was posted in london and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

