Hornimann Musuem

I had a lovely time at the Hornimann Museum which is 10 minutes walk from Forest Hill Station in South East London. The building was much more spacious than I imagined with its impressive clock tower an eye catching landmark within the local area.

The highlights for me were the displays in the African Worlds Gallery and the Music Gallery. The latter had a vast array of modern and historic musical instruments from Europe, Asia and further afield. I was taken aback at the number of brass and wind instruments on display from countries such as Ghana, Uzbekistan, Italy and Tibet.

African World Gallery displays artefacts from the ancient Egypt to modern day Nigeria. I began to understand the importance that some African cultures paid to masks.

The Natural History Gallery had a large variety of stuffed animals on show on the first floor. Although when I saw the rats I quickly moved on.  I never realised how large a walrus could grow to in size. When I saw the stuffed foxes I am sure one of them moved!

The staff at the Museum that I engaged with were helpful and friendly and one of the security staff gave me a quick history of the venue and the best times to visit for quieter viewing ( school groups were there). The staff were jokingly impressed that I had come all the way across the river from East London to visit the museum.

Hornimann Museum is easy to get to from Central London. There are trains from London Bridge, Victoria plus  High & Islington that stop at Forest Hill. It is a popular venue for school groups so if your preference is for a quiet exploration of the museum in weekdays then go after 2pm!

http://www.horniman.ac.uk/

Got any Colgate?

About africanherbsman1967

Sometimes I blog what's on my mind. But more into reading the thoughts and photos of other bloggers.
This entry was posted in london, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

